Supporting Women, Revitalising Villages

28.06.2021

In the country of Côte d’Ivoire in western Africa, the CIDT cotton company is working to improve small-scale farmers’ living conditions by promoting their health, opening up access to education, and offering women special support. Since 2019, CIDT has been benefiting from co-operation with the CmiA Community Cooperation Programme (CCCP).

The woman in charge of implementing and supervising CmiA criteria at CIDT can be found in its department for sustainable development, where Haissata Kaba is the head of the department for projects and partnerships. She also oversees support activities for the cotton farmers, for their village communities, and for women as a group.

The CIDT cotton company wants to improve the lives of small-scale farmers in Côte d’Ivoire. Which successes have left the biggest impression on you in the past year?

Working with the CmiA Community Cooperation Programme (CCCP) is a big help. It has already allowed fantastic projects to be implemented. For example, a water pump was built in the village of Todeni (Mankono). The village residents, who used to have to walk a long way to get drinking water, now have clean water nearby. This lets them stay healthier and focus on their work and their families. In another project, an ecological school is being built in the village of Nawokaha. The special thing about this school is that the pupils learn about the agricultural aspects of planting and maintaining their own vegetable gardens in addition to the normal syllabus.

The COVID-19 pandemic is having a significant impact on all of our lives. How has it changed CIDT’s work and the lives of the farmers?

The Ivorian government introduced restrictive measures at the beginning of the pandemic, for example proscribing gatherings and intercity travel. This had an enormous impact on the economy. CIDT had to reduce its activities in the fields to a minimum. Demand for cotton for export cratered.

Haissata Kaba

Were special protective measures taken for the farmers?

Handwashing kits and disinfectants were made available in CIDT’s offices, and all employees received face masks. To protect the health of our cotton farmers, AbTF provided funds for the purchase of soap, disinfectants, and handwashing equipment. In addition, it provided us with informational material about COVID-19 and about the correct preventive measures so that the farmers could be offered training when CIDT’s agricultural consultants visited the villages. In this way, the farmers learnt about the dangers of SARS-CoV-2 and were able to protect themselves at work and their families at home.

What are the biggest challenges for sustainable cotton production during the coronavirus pandemic?

The anti-coronavirus measures have to be co-ordinated with the sustainable growing of cotton in Africa. This is not always easy because the work in the fields and commercial activities have been restricted. Nonetheless, we must find solutions that protect people’s health and are acceptable to everyone.

Looking into the future, how should the cotton industry evolve?

My wish would be for our cotton farmers to become confident and independent entrepreneurs who view their fields as capital. They should be able to independently predict their crop yields and also identify their risks. If they themselves are in a position to modernise their operations and to make their investments profitable, they can improve their own standards of living and those of their village communities. That would be a big step towards a better, self-determined life.

Frauen stärken – Dörfer beleben

28.06.2021

Im westafrikanischen Land Côte d’Ivoire setzt sich die Baumwollgesellschaft CIDT für die Verbesserung der Lebensbedingungen der Kleinbauern ein. Sie will die Gesundheit der Menschen fördern, ihnen Zugang zu Bildung ermöglichen und ganz besonders Frauen unter-stützen. Seit 2019 profitiert die CIDT von der Zusammenarbeit mit dem CmiA-Community-Kooperationsprogramm (CCCP).

In der Abteilung für nachhaltige Entwicklung bei CIDT ist eine Frau für die Umsetzung und Überprüfung der CmiA-Kriterien im Unternehmen zuständig: Haissata Kaba ist Leiterin des Bereichs Projekte und Partnerschaften. Sie überwacht zudem die Förderprojekte für die Baumwollbauern und deren Dorfgemeinschaften sowie für Aktivitäten zur Unterstützung von Frauen.

Die Baumwollgesellschaft CIDT will das Leben der Kleinbauern in der Côte d’Ivoire verbessern. Welche Erfolge haben Sie im vergangenen Jahr besonders beeindruckt?

Die Zusammenarbeit mit dem CmiA Community Kooperationsprogramm (CCCP) ist eine große Hilfe. Fantastische Projekte konnten bereits umgesetzt werden: So wurde eine Wasserpumpe im Dorf Todeni (Mankono) gebaut. Die Dorfbewohner, die früher lange für Trinkwasser gehen mussten, haben nun sauberes Wasser direkt in ihrer Nähe. So bleiben sie gesund und können sich besser auf ihre Arbeit und ihre Familie konzentrieren. Im Dorf Nawokaha wird zudem eine ökologische Schule gebaut. Das Besondere daran ist, dass die Schüler neben dem normalen Lehrplan auch in der Landwirtschaft im eigenen Gemüsegarten geschult werden.

Die Corona-Pandemie hat einen erheblichen Einfluss auf unser aller Leben. Wie hat sie das Leben der Bauern und die Arbeit der CIDT verändert?

Die ivorische Regierung führte bereits zu Beginn der Pandemie restriktive Maßnahmen ein, zum Beispiel waren Menschenansammlungen und Reisen in andere Städte verboten. Das beeinflusste die Wirtschaft enorm. Die CIDT musste daher ihre Einsätze auf den Feldern auf ein Minimum reduzieren. Auch die Nachfrage nach Baumwolle für den Export sank stark.

Haissata Kaba

Wurden besondere Schutzmaßnahmen für die Bauern ergriffen?

In den Büros der CIDT gab es Handwaschkits und Desinfektionsmittel, alle Mitarbeiter bekamen Masken. Um die Gesundheit unserer Baumwollbauern und -bäuerinnen zu schützen, hat die AbTF finanzielle Mittel zur Verfügung gestellt, um Seife, Desinfektionsmittel und Hand-Wasch-Gelegenheiten kaufen zu können. Außerdem stellte sie uns Informationsmaterial zu COVID-19 und den korrekten Schutzmaßnahmen zur Verfügung, so dass die Bauern und Bäuerinnen bei Besuchen der landwirtschaftlichen CIDT-Berater in den Dörfern geschult werden konnten. Dadurch lernten sie die Gefahren von SARS-CoV-2 kennen und konnten sich bei der Arbeit sowie zuhause ihre Familien schützen.

Was sind die größten Herausforderungen für den nachhaltigen Baumwollanbau während der Corona-Pandemie?

Die Anti-Corona-Maßnahmen müssen mit dem nachhaltigen Anbau von Baumwolle in Afrika vereinbart werden. Das ist nicht immer leicht, da die Arbeit auf dem Feld und der wirtschaftliche Handel ein-geschränkt wurden. Wir müssen dennoch Lösungen finden, die die Gesundheit der Menschen schützen und die für alle annehmbar sind.

Wenn Sie in die Zukunft blicken: Wie sollte die Baumwollanbau-Industrie aussehen?

Mein Wunsch wäre es, dass unsere Baumwollbauern und -bäuerinnen zu selbstbewussten und eigenständigen Unternehmern werden, die ihre Felder als Kapital betrachten. Sie sollten ihre Erträge eigenständig prognostizieren und auch Risiken erkennen können. Wenn sie selbst in der Lage sind, ihren Betrieb zu modernisieren und ihre Investitionen rentabel zu machen, können sie ihren eigenen Lebensstandard und den der Dorfgemeinschaft verbessern. Das wäre ein großer Schritt zu einem besseren, selbstbestimmteren Leben.