Corporate Responsibility and Transparency

20.07.2020

Mohammod Yeasin Mahmud, Senior General Manager of the Noman Group in Bangladesh, discusses the demand for Cotton made in Africa products, transparency in the supply chain, and sustainable materials in the future.

Mohammod Yeasin Mahmud, Senior General
Manager, Noman Group

Mr. Yeasin, you produce textiles for well-known retailers and brands worldwide. You have been a registered partner of Cotton made in Africa since 2013. How has your company developed since then?

Responding to public and retail-sector demand for corporate social responsibility and transparency in the textile industry has become increasingly important. Sustainable cotton is part of the solution, and so we are proud to be continually increasing the proportion of sustainable CmiA cotton used in our range of textile products. In recent years, our production and sales figures have risen steadily.

What has your experience of processing CmiA cotton into textiles been like?

Sustainable cotton is now competitive with conventional cotton. By working with this initiative, we are helping establish and strengthen the market share for sustainable cotton. The demand for both fashion and home textiles, such as towels, shows that our clients clearly want more products made of sustainable fibres like Cotton made in Africa.

Are there any developments that you are particularly proud of?

Yes. We are very pleased with the introduction of the Hard Identity Preserved (HIP) system, which we implemented as Cotton made in Africa’s first partner in Asia. It is very important to us that this contributes to improving transparency and traceability in the supply chain. This system not only allows retailers — our clients — to enhance their supply chains’ physical traceability, it also gives consumers peace of mind that the products they purchase can be proved to contain CmiA cotton.

What does HIP mean for your company in practice?

We call it physical traceability. Like all other actors in the textile chain, we furnish the initiative’s centralised online tracking system with information about which products we use the cotton in. For our HIP products, we use exclusively CmiA cotton with no other cotton mixed in. This ensures transparency and traceability for CmiA cotton throughout the supply chain for products that bear the logo of “Cotton made in Africa Inside”.

What makes this new system special for your company and its relations with its clients?

Although we have been members of the initiative for many years, introducing the HIP system gives us our first chance to show our clients the high quality of textiles this cotton can produce.

Do you have any clients who have already ordered products manufactured through the HIP system?

Yes, the first customer was the international fashion retailer bonprix. It is worth noting that bonprix stands for excellent value in fashion and home textiles, which goes to show that sustainability and affordability are by no means mutually exclusive.

What kinds of movement towards sustainability do you see on the horizon in the textile sector?

Alongside sustainable cotton farming, recycled materials will play an ever-greater role in the production processes of the future. At the end of their lifespans, products will once again become raw materials. This is not just limited to cotton: Plastic waste can yield synthetic fibres, just as old clothes become recycled cotton fibres. Traceability will be essential for this supply chain too, as only unmixed materials can be reused.

Unternehmensverantwortung und Transparenz

20.07.2020

Mohammod Yeasin Mahmud, Senior General Manager der Noman Group in Bangladesch, über die Nachfrage nach Cotton made in Africa-Produkten, Transparenz in der Lieferkette und nachhaltige Materialien der Zukunft.

Mohammod Yeasin Mahmud,
Senior General Manager, Noman Group

Herr Yeasin, Sie produzieren Textilien für bekannte Einzelhändler und Marken weltweit. Seit 2013 sind Sie ein registrierter Partner von Cotton made in Africa. Wie hat sich Ihr Unternehmen seitdem entwickelt?

Auch in der textilen Produktion ist es immer wichtiger geworden, die Anforderungen des Handels und der Öffentlichkeit nach Unternehmensverantwortung und Transparenz umzusetzen. Dazu gehört auch der Einsatz von nachhaltiger Baumwolle. Deshalb freuen wir uns sehr darüber, CmiA-Baumwolle für unser Textilsortiment zu verarbeiten. In den vergangenen Jahren konnten wir ein kontinuierliches Wachstum unserer Produktions- und Absatzzahlen verzeichnen.

Welche Erfahrungen haben Sie mit der Verarbeitung von CmiA-Baumwolle zu Textilien gemacht?

Nachhaltige Baumwolle kann inzwischen erfolgreich mit konventioneller Baumwolle konkurrieren. Durch unsere Kooperation mit der Initiative tragen wir dazu bei, nachhaltige Baumwolle zunehmend im Markt zu stärken und zu etablieren. Unsere Kunden wünschen sich vermehrt Produkte aus nachhaltigen Fasern wie Cotton made in Africa. Das merken wir deutlich – nicht nur bei Mode, sondern auch bei unseren Produkten, den Heimtextilien, wie beispielsweise Handtüchern.

Gibt es Entwicklungen, die Sie mit Stolz erfüllen?

Ja – wir schauen sehr zufrieden auf die Einführung des Hard Identity Preserved-Systems (HIP), das wir als erster Partner von Cotton made in Africa in Asien umgesetzt haben. Es ist uns sehr wichtig, damit einen Beitrag zu noch mehr Transparenz und Rückverfolgbarkeit in der Kette zu leisten. Durch dieses System können nicht nur unsere Kunden, die Retailer, die physische Rückverfolgbarkeit in der Liefer-kette stärken, sondern auch die Konsumenten können sich über ein Produkt freuen, das nachweisbar CmiA-Baumwolle enthält.

Was bedeutet HIP in der Praxis für Ihr Unternehmen?

Wir nennen es „physische Rückverfolgbarkeit“. Wie alle anderen Akteure der textilen Kette liefern wir Informationen darüber, für welche Produkte wir die Baumwolle einsetzen, zentral an ein Online-TrackingSystem der Initiative. Für unsere HIP-Produkte verwenden wir ausschließlich CmiA-Baumwolle, kein Gemisch mit anderer Baumwolle. Bei Endprodukten, die das Logo „Cotton made in Africa Inside“ tragen, ist auf diese Weise die Transparenz und Rück-verfolgbarkeit von CmiA-Baumwolle über die gesamte Lieferkette gesichert.

Was ist das Besondere an diesem neuen System für Ihr Unternehmen und Ihre Kundenbeziehungen?

Wir sind seit vielen Jahren Mitglied der Initiative und haben über die Einführung des HIP-Systems erstmalig auch die Chance, den Kunden zu zeigen, was für hochwertige Artikel sich aus dieser Baumwolle produzieren lassen.

Gibt es bereits Kunden, die Produkte bestellt haben, die nach dem HIP-System hergestellt wurden?

Ja, der erste Kunde war der internationale Modehändler bonprix. Interessanterweise steht bonprix ja für Mode und Heimtextilien zu einem ausgezeichneten Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis. Nachhaltigkeit und Bezahlbarkeit muss also keineswegs ein Widerspruch sein.

Welche neuen nachhaltigen Entwicklungen sehen Sie für den Textilsektor am Horizont?

Neben dem Anbau nachhaltiger Baumwolle werden recycelte Materialien zukünftig eine noch größere Rolle als bisher im Produktionsprozess spielen. Produkte werden nach ihrem Gebrauch zum neuen Rohstoff. Das betrifft nicht nur Baumwolle, aber auch. Aus Plastikmüll lassen sich etwa Kunststoffgarne herstellen – und aus Altkleidern recycelte Baumwollfasern. Auch hier wird es wichtig sein, dass wir die Lieferkette rückverfolgen können, da sich nur sortenreines Material wiederverwenden lässt.